The Five Love Languages

Did you know there are five love languages? A love language is how someone expresses their love for you, it’s important to know and understand these languages in order to create a strong bond and form a solid relationship.

The Five Love Languages:

Words of Affirmation:

– This love language is all about compliments, encouraging words, handwritten cards and letters, and any other words that build up your partner.

“You look beautiful!”

“I love your new haircut”

“You always make me laugh”

If words of affirmation are your partners love language, a compliment and an “I love you” goes a long way. However, negative and insulting comments can hurt your partner and it will take them a while to forgive you.

Acts of Service:

– My favorite way to describe this love language is: “Actions speak louder than words.”

This love language is all about expressing your love by doing things that your partner will enjoy such as: cooking, cleaning, or doing the laundry. All of these acts should be done with a positive mindset. On the contrary, doing things that are asked of you or out of obligation do not count.

Receiving Gifts:

– This love language isn’t just about materialistic items, it’s about the kind gesture behind it. Surprising your partner with their favorite flowers, buying them a coffee, grabbing their favorite snack at the gas station before you head home. Giving your partner gifts that are meaningful and thoughtful are what’s important here.

Quality Time:

– I think this love language speaks for itself. This love language is all about undivided attention, no television, no phones, no distractions. If this is your partners love language, they don’t want to be a part of something, they want to be the center of your attention.

This doesn’t mean bingeing a show together on Netflix, it means doing activities that involves the two of you giving each other attention, one-on-one quality time.

Canceling dates, postponing plans, not making an effort to spend alone time with them will harm your relationship and the way they feel about you.

Physical Touch:

– The love language of physical touch is not about sex or sexual interactions, it’s about gentle physical presence such as: hugs, kisses, caressing, massages, shoulder touches, hand holding, and other kind gestures of physical attention that shows your presence not just emotionally but physically.

If this is your partners love language, give them surprise hugs and kisses before you leave the house and when you return, hold their hands while walking or during car rides, if you’re at dinner together touch their leg to let them know you notice them and are aware of their presence beside you.

If your partner doesn’t feel your physical touch, they will feel unloved and unwanted. The other acts of love won’t matter if they don’t feel you close by physically.

What is your love language? Do you know what your partners love language is? Understanding the five love languages and acting accordingly is key to having a healthy, loving, and stable relationship. Needless to say, you or your partner can have more than one love language. I hope this helps strengthen the relationships in your life! I know your partner will appreciate you taking the time to understand and express love in their language.


A loved and happy wife!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s